



170th SESSION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Washington, D.C., USA (hybrid session), 20-24 June 2022

Provisional Agenda Item 3.2

CE70/5, Add. I 20 June 2022 Original: English

PAHO AWARD FOR HEALTH SERVICES MANAGEMENT AND LEADERSHIP 2022

Report of the Award Committee of the PAHO Award for Health Services Management and Leadership 2022

- 1. The Award Committee of the PAHO Award for Health Services Management and Leadership 2022 is composed of the Delegates of Argentina, Brazil and Mexico.
- 2. The Award Committee met on 20 June 2022, during the 170th Session of the Executive Committee, and examined the information on the candidates nominated by Member States, namely:

Name	Country
Ms. Carla Gabriela Romero Pérez	Bolivia
Mr. Gerson Orlando Bermont Galavis	Colombia
Dr. Lorenzo Jorge Pérez Ávila	Cuba
Dr. Carlos Gabriel Alvarenga Cardoza	El Salvador
Dr. Malti Adhin	Suriname
Dr. Virginia Asin Oostburg	Suriname

- 3. The Award Committee recommended that the PAHO Award for Health Services Management and Leadership 2022 be granted to Ms. Carla Gabriela Romero Pérez, from the Plurinational State of Bolivia, in recognition of her work in research and in strengthening the epidemiology area to combat arboviruses; the technical support provided to the Integrated Management Strategy (IMS); her management of the dengue, chikungunya, and Zika prevention and control program; her leadership in containing the dengue epidemic in the northern region of the Department of La Paz in 2018; the inclusion of messages on the prevention and control of the *Aedes aegypti* mosquito in the school curriculum; and her work on logistics and distribution of the first doses of COVID-19 vaccine throughout Bolivia.
- 4. The Award Committee recognizes the merits of the six candidates and, in particular, Ms. Carla Gabriela Romero Pérez.

5. The Committee recommends that the Executive Committee adopt a resolution along the following lines:

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

PAHO AWARD FOR HEALTH SERVICES MANAGEMENT AND LEADERSHIP 2022

THE 170th SESSION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE,

- (PP1) Having examined the *Report of the Award Committee of the PAHO Award* for Health Services and Leadership 2022 (Document CE170/5, Add. I);
- (PP2) Bearing in mind the provisions of the procedures and guidelines for conferring the PAHO Award for Health Services and Leadership (previously known as the PAHO Award for Administration), as approved by the 56th Directing Council (2018),¹

RESOLVES:

- (OP)1. To congratulate the candidates for the PAHO Award for Health Services Management and Leadership 2022 for their professionalism and outstanding work on behalf of their countries and the Region.
- (OP)2. The Award Committee recommended that the PAHO Award for Health Services Management and Leadership 2022 be granted to Ms. Carla Gabriela Romero Pérez, from the Plurinational State of Bolivia, in recognition of her work in research and in strengthening the epidemiology area to combat arboviruses; the technical support provided to the Integrated Management Strategy (IMS); her management of the dengue, chikungunya, and Zika prevention and control program; her leadership in containing the dengue epidemic in the northern region of the Department of La Paz in 2018; the inclusion of messages on the prevention and control of the *Aedes aegypti* mosquito in the school curriculum; and her work on logistics and distribution of the first doses of COVID-19 vaccine throughout Bolivia.
- (OP)3. To transmit the *Report of the Award Committee of the PAHO Award for Health Services Management and Leadership 2022* (Document CE170/5, Add. I), to the 30th Pan American Sanitary Conference of PAHO, 74th Session of the Regional Committee of WHO for the Americas.

- - -

¹ The procedures and guidelines for conferring the Award were approved by the 18th Pan American Sanitary Conference (1970) and amended by the 24th Pan American Sanitary Conference (1994), by the Executive Committee at its 124th (1999), 135th (2004), 140th (2007), 146th (2010), and 158th (2016) Sessions, and by the 56th Directing Council (2018).